SOLSC 2015: Day 18

A group of my colleagues and I went on our own “teacher field” trip today to get a preview of the field trip our kids will be going on. I have to say, this was a wonderful day and very much needed. I think it is so great when I get to spend time with my colleagues outside of the school (and even better if we get to miss a day or two to do it 😉 ). I find that this is where the best bonding comes from. Five of us carpooled to the destination, all seven of us ate lunch together (and I found I had to slow myself down- I’m so used to shoving food in my mouth and I had all the time I wanted today!), and then the five of us got back in the car to go home. (And then we all get to go to school for after school meetings- the one not-so-great thing about the day!)

We just got to talk: about school things, about different experiences we’ve had. We got to know each other a little bit more. I know it’s not really possible, but I would LOVE to do this more. I think personally I would really enjoy teaching on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays, and having Wednesdays to do things like this, but I’m not sure how many of the people in charge would go for that. 😉

I’m very grateful for today. I got to spend time with wonderful people. We spent a lot of time outside, learning about an association and a place that’s important to where we live. We got to take our time eating at a restaurant during a school day… what more could you want?!

Now, I’m going to take a little nap and then drive to school for what I’m sure will be an after school meeting that definitely worth the hour round-trip. (There was just a bit of sarcasm there…)

One response

  1. Wow, I’m jealous! I agree about the one day a week when teachers can work together, plan together, and explore together. I guess one can dream… Glad you had a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

