SOLSC 2015: Day 12

Today was not good. I was dreading something yesterday, it seemed to actually go pretty well, and I was kind of excited to read my evaluation on it. BIG MISTAKE. It was the absolute worst evaluation I have ever had. I am usually pretty hard on myself and pretty honest about when I don’t do things well, and even I was shocked by this. According to this, I have no idea what I’m doing, I have no idea about the content area I’m teaching (!), and so on. Which is odd because the last time I met with this person a few weeks ago she said I was doing some great things and I’m doing a good job.

I don’t even know what to say without going into too much detail. Professionally, I have never been this shocked, hurt, confused… It’s really making me question myself and some of my plans I had coming up. Ugh!

16 responses

  1. Oh no! Well this sure does sound like a bad day. . . I hope you can talk with someone else to get perspective on this. . .Motives, reality, etc. . .

  2. Hmmmm. I’ve experienced something similar and there were no answers given. Months later, I’m still dealing with this and it feels exactly as you describe — mistrust of yourself and others, questions… I hope you can talk with someone soon and get clarity so moving onward and upward is easy. 🙂

    1. Thanks so much for your comment! I hate to hear that months later you’re still dealing with it! I hope you’re moving upward, as well. 🙂

  3. If the feedback is helpful, ask if you can try again. We all have bad days. Don’t be so hard on yourself. Advocate for your rights and think about how to do it better next time. Talk to friends.

    1. Thanks so much for your comment!

  4. I am so sorry for such a bad day. I hope somehow it will turn out better than you feel it is right now. Trust your own honest self-evaluation.

  5. So sorry for your bad day….I know I would be asking myself all the same questions you are if I was in that situation. Hopefully you can talk with a friend in the meantime!

  6. Oh boy! So sorry to hear you had such a rough day! Hopefully, the evaluator is someone that you feel comfortable talking to…maybe ask if you can meet with them and pick their brain after you have had a moment for two for yourself.

  7. Ouch. I’m so sorry that you were blindsided by your evaluation. I truly hope that your administrator didn’t express him/herself in quite those terms. Is it possible to have a constructive conversation and express your confusion/concern? Good luck!

  8. Hello! Well, the fact that you write and reflect on your own, to better yourself, tells me you are one who isn’t afraid to try and to put yourself out there. I think it’s a good idea to ask for a redo, and this time TELL your evaluator specifically what to look for to give feedback on. For example, you might say, “I’d like you to listen in how AJ, Dominic, and Carly talk to each other during the active engagement. What kind of things did you notice in their behaviors? Did they follow directions, could they rename the teaching point, etc.?” This way your evaluator has something concrete to look at and to tell you. Which you deserve as a reflective practitioner.

  9. Thank you so much for sharing. I am sorry for your discouragement. I think that if someone is going to give an evaluation like that they should have to give an explanation as well. Along with suggestions to make improvements. I would also like to suggest that you consider the evaluation in its context and not let it rob you of what you enjoy doing.

  10. Oh no, oh no, oh no! You DO know what you’re doing. Maybe it was just a rotten, no good, very bad day! We have all had days like that. Get some well-deserved sleep and maybe you’ll have a better perspective tomorrow.

  11. I’m so sorry for your bad day. We’ve all had them unfortunately. Maybe your evaluator was just having a bad day themselves and this reflected onto your evaluation. I’m hoping tomorrow brings you a new day of hope and peace.

  12. Teaching is such a personal job/profession! It’s such an effort of the heart. I used to strive so hard for perfection when I was observed, honestly, that I couldn’t process any type of comment that wasn’t what I was hoping for. You’ve got a lot of great advice here. But, I think what’s best is to go back to the lesson and reflect on what you saw as working, and then go back to your superviser and ask him/her–was your own reality that wrong? I tend to doubt it! So glad you put it out there. We all know, and can feel your pain!

  13. Don’t forget this is ONE day, ONE snapshot. Our teaching resembles more of a photo album. So ditch this snapshot, start fresh tomorrow and be proud of your “album” because that is a truer picture of your work and passion.

  14. Tara first I applaud you for putting your heart out like this. Is there someone/mentor teacher at your school that you can meet with and share your ideas and plans with to get feedback? Above all, don’t lose confidence in yourself and please don’t beat yourself up.best of luck!

Leave a Reply

