SOLSC 2015: Day 2

I had a meeting this afternoon that was pretty terrible. I kind of knew it was probably going to be terrible, so I tried to go in armed with documentation and a good attitude, but by this point it’s clear I have somehow become the enemy and it seems I cannot do anything right. I left feeling very disheartened and trying to find some kind of constructive comment that I can take with me to work on and improve, but I haven’t been able to find it yet. I don’t know how to respond to people in a work setting who just say things like, “I don’t believe you,” or “So and so said this,” where “this” is something I’ve never said or done.

BUT, I had a wonderful rest of my day. I had someone who left work with me that gave me a short time to just get out my feelings, and then we turned the conversation to more pleasant things. We stopped by a shop and enjoyed some treats, which I most definitely wouldn’t have done if she wasn’t there with me. It felt really nice to feel heard and cared about.

Tonight, I’m going to write her a letter telling her how much I appreciated it, send a card to someone else just because, and reflect a bit on what I can do to try to make this meeting situation thing better on my end. At this point, I can’t worry about changing this person’s mind, but I can try to make myself better!

And also, the *sun* was out today and it was just wonderful!! 🙂

6 responses

  1. The sunshine on your shoulder and a friend by your side. Nothing better!

  2. Those kinds of meetings are never fun. So glad your day ended on a better note. Remember a new day starts tomorrow. Hang in there.

  3. I’m glad you had a friend with you at the right time. Look past the meeting!

  4. You have a great attitude. I can only imagine what you must be going through. I agree with you that we can’t control others but we can control how we respond to them and what we can do to make that “thing” better. You sound like you are headed in the right direction. I wish you well.

  5. I love when I leave school with a friend, and we walk out to our cars, and immediately weight is lifted when someone takes that extra time to listen. And the sun was out!

  6. Friends definitely make the world a better place! I love how you shared with such honesty! I also loved how you are valuing the act of writing by journaling and sending a note of appreciation to someone else!

Leave a Reply

