SOL July 1, 2014

So Life Is Kinda Funny…

Last Tuesday, I had given up on getting a new job. I figured I’m as ready as I’m ever going to be, but apparently it just wasn’t in the cards this year.

When I woke up on Wednesday morning, I saw that I had a missed call and a voicemail. Someone had called to set up an interview! It wasn’t the perfect job, but it was something! Then, as I was driving to lunch, I got another call. The principal wanted me to come in the next day for an interview. I went, and about an hour later the assistant superintendent called to offer me the job!

Now, reality is smacking me hard in the face. At one point last year, I wanted nothing more than to leave my current place. I wasn’t clicking with my team at all, I thought I could reconnect with my sister, my really good friend at my current place was moving…there just weren’t any jobs. Well, there were some, but they were all at one school that I had a really bad feeling about. Then I found out my sister was moving across the country, I was getting moved to a grade level I was interested in with people who seemed great, and I just kind of made peace with the fact that I was staying for another year.

Now that I’m actually going to move, I’m thinking about what I’m leaving behind. (I guess I can’t ever just be happy, huh?!?) This has been the best team I’ve worked on as a teacher. I met someone this year who has become such an amazing friend, and I know that these relationships don’t happen very often. I know that a move of this distance can be a lot for many people, so right now I’m trying to focus on the positives and why it is a good thing for me. I’m probably going to need to refer to this often. 🙂 I’m trying to remind myself:

  • At this new position, I’m teaching my favorite subject and that’s it! That will NEVER happen where I’m at now.
  • While I’m a bit scared because, while I will be moving closer to hometown, it’s still a ways away. Instead of thinking “OMG I’m moving to a town I’ve never been to and where I know NO ONE,” I’m trying to think, “Hey! Great chance to get to know a new place and new people!” I think this one will be the hardest for me to be mostly thinking positively about! Change is hard for me, but it is needed in life sometimes!
  • Hopefully, this awesome friendship I’ve formed will stay in tact. We can travel and visit each other! While there are other friends I’ve made here and people I will miss, unfortunately I know a lot of the relationships won’t continue. It’ll be hard to keep in touch and all those other things we tell each other. But this will be a great chance for me to work on keeping in touch with those who are important to me but know close to me physically.
  • I’m not happy where I’m at right now. While I enjoy the kids I work with and my team, there are quite a few things I’d change about where I work. And some of those things will wear me down (some already have worn me down some as it is). I know I need to put in work if I want to be happy and not just content, and making necessary changes is part of that.

I think the biggest thing with me is that I like to have routines and consistency in my life. Change is hard for a lot of people, and I definitely don’t always handle it well, even when it’s something I know I need. And this timeline is going to be wacky, because I’m going to have to start sooner than I thought, so I’ll be having to go back and forth for about the first month or two of the new school year. I probably won’t be able to “settle down” until October.

But this is a change I need. I know the best I can ever do her is be content. That’s no way to live! Hopefully everything goes through and I get to move on to the next chapter of my life, without losing the good parts of this current one.

8 responses

  1. Tara, I am excited for you! New and better things are coming your way! Looking forward to reading more about your new position in the coming school year!

  2. This is truly a big change. Remember to breathe and celebrate. No matter what happens you will learn and grow.

  3. isn’t it funny how when you finally let go of something and sort of give up- it or something better comes your way. Congratulations!

  4. It is scary to start new things, but also exciting. You captured it well! Good luck with the move.

  5. Change is always hard – but good things most often come with change. Good luck!

  6. Best of luck! I was smiling at the vagueness that we often need to coat our slices with, in order to protect our own privacy and the privacy of others. But I wanted the details, curious to know the relationships that are important to you, and the job you are leaving and the one you’re moving towards. This wanting-to-know-more is all a great sign of good writing, methinks!

  7. I love your positive thinking! Remember the apples are at the end of the branch for a reason — We need to stretch ourselves to enjoy the fruit. Best of luck to you!

    ~Jennifer

  8. I hope this change is all you hope it will be. I also hope you will find a new friend.

Leave a Reply

