SOLSC 2014, Slice 28

A quick note to get something down today:

I do not live near my family. I live hundreds of miles from most of my immediate family, thousands of miles from a few of them. That doesn’t mean we can’t be close, but it does involve effort from all involved. It makes me sad when I try and don’t get any effort in return.

On the flip side, I am forming deeper relationships with some new people in my life. A part of me is sad about this, because I know this place I’m living in right now is not home. I don’t want to be here forever. I hope that if I ever do get the opportunity to move on someplace else, I can keep these new relationships that are forming.

The older I get, the more important relationships are to me. While it hurts me that some in my life don’t seem to feel the same way, it’s nice to find new people at this point in my life who do, and who want to work on building a friendship with me. It seems like I hear from a lot of people the older you get, the harder it is to form new relationships. Again, I’m sad I don’t have that family connection I want so much, but I hope I can focus on the wonderfulness of friendships!

2 responses

  1. I always tell kids that your family is made up of the people who love you and are there for you when you need them. I only live about 75 miles from my biological family, but those aren’t the people I go to when I need something.

  2. I totally understand where you’re coming from. While our parents don’t live as far away, they do live 2.5 & 4 hours away. It feels like an eternity sometimes. It has helped me develop great relationships with my neighbors, who I’ve come to rely upon like family.

Leave a Reply

