SOLSC 2014, Slice 26

When I got home from work today, I thought about a girl I have in class last year, and one I have this year. On the outside, they are both easy to get mad and aggravated at. One thing about the girl last year is she was repeating the grade. I hadn’t had her her first year in the grade level, but I knew her. No one volunteered to have her in class for her repeat year, so I did. 

I saw her in the office on the first day of school, walked up to her with a big smile on my face, and told her how excited I was for her to be in my class. I talked to her and realized I knew why she acted how she did a lot of the time. I had some similar issues growing up, and I very easily could have acted out that way growing up. I didn’t, but why? I also realized she is learning a lot of this at home.

Empathy is what helped me. Honestly, before last year, I could name 100 negative things about myself, but I struggled to come up with one positive thing. She helped me realize I’m empathetic and I could make connections with one of “those” kids. 

This year, I’m having trouble connecting with one of my newer students. She doesn’t come to school often, she is doing some “flirting” with some of the boys in my class (and you know the three kids in class who should stay away from each other, but always find each other and it’s just no no no– it’s that group), she rolls her eyes at me and tries to make fun of me and students in my class. I was getting really exasperated with her and really just frustrated. Well, I had a talk with her today (about some random thing) and something started taking form in my mind. When I got home, I thought about it some more. Things are starting to make some sense, and that empathy is kicking in. (I know empathy isn’t whoo this simple and stuff, but I’m just writing here!) 

Tomorrow I’m going to call her over and just talk to her. I probably won’t have the relationship I had with the other student, but we need to come to some sort of something. I think I’m starting to get her now, and I want to help her succeed. Hopefully I can help her and we can salvage some sort of relationship before she leaves for next year.

4 responses

  1. That’s the thing… we just start to make a dent when… something happens, someone moves… something else takes them back into that dangerous space. But we have to keep trying. There’s no other way.

  2. Sounds like you’re off to a promising start! I hope it works!

  3. Don’t give up! Keep trying-you’ll both get it right. If you’re not familiar with Dr. Robert Brooks, here is his website-http://www.drrobertbrooks.com/
    He talks about how all kids need that charismatic adult…maybe you’ll be that person for your student! Hope all goes well.

  4. Thanks for sharing your thoughts in this slice. It is a meaningful post about connecting with kids from the inside out. I think we all have students each year where we’re really not sure how to make those connections, but when we share from the heart, and show our dedication, we usually make a big difference. It sounds like you are doing great things!

Leave a comment