SOLSC 2014, Slice 25

I think this time period in my life is all about growth.

Today, I definitely had a moment where I realized I’ve grown; in the past, a parent questioning every. thing. I. do. would leave me fuming. I would get an email from this parent, and I’d remain agitated all night.

It seems every year I have one parent who just grates on my nerves, and I can never do anything good enough for this person. This is where all of my focus would be. Never mind the fact I had 20-28 other families who were happy with what I was doing with their kids.

One day during recess, I was talking to a student in another class. She was so upset over something, and I just asked her if it was worth it. Was it that big of a deal? Was it worth  having a horrible rest of the day? No? Ok, let it go! Later that night, I got an email from that year’s parent. BAM- emotional spike! And then I thought about the conversation I had with that student that day, and it hit me that I was doing the same thing.

Ever since that night, I’ve been working on this. Today, I realized I’d made a lot of growth. Sure, there are some times where this still gets to me, but more often than not I’m able to get over it and not let it ruin my day. Yay growth!

4 responses

  1. Boy, can we all use this reminder more often than not. And I am fairly positive we all know that parent.

  2. Good for you, not easy to make that adjustment, but very worth it.

  3. Something that I’ve found helpful is asking myself, “What can I learn from this? What is this person teaching me about themselves or their needs?” So often most things really don’t have anything to do with us, even when it seems so for the first few minutes. Asking myself these questions helps me to work through and let go of many situations.

  4. Great post and a wonderful lesson. I hold grudges! It is something I need to stop! Thanks for the nudge to be better.

Leave a Reply

