SOLSC 2014, Slice 18

I’m going to have some difficult days coming up. I’m glad I know that in advance because I feel like I can try to prepare myself for it. I’m hoping I can stay calm, have patience, and be open-minded. And if I can be these things, I hope I can just fake it ’til I make it.

To help myself get ready for tomorrow, I’m going to write down two things I want to remember that made me feel good today:

  • As we were coming down to the carpet to get ready for our read aloud, one boy that I’ve had for two years now said to me, “I never really liked the books my other teachers picked out, but I’ve loved every single book you’ve picked!” Whoa!
  • The writing piece I’m having my kids do is going pretty well. Most of them were really excited the very first day we started, and when I mentioned they could submit it to a contest, about 10 of them automatically raised their hands! We’ve been working on sharing our drafts and making revisions, and they actually made “real” revisions, instead of just sticking one or two new words in. AND they are working on their second drafts and they’re excited about putting in some of their revised chunks! What?

I hope these literacy pieces keep going well and I didn’t jinx it! 🙂

3 responses

  1. Sounds like you are on a role!

  2. Those are two WONDERFUL things you listed! It is so exciting when you see enthusiasm in your students for both writing and revision! 🙂 I am sorry you will be going through some tough times and I wish you well.

  3. Those are the moments that make teaching worthwhile. Hold on to the good!

Leave a Reply

