SOLSC 2014, Slice 15

I have been thinking about applying for new jobs for a number of years now. Last year, I started the process. However, there were a limited number of schools I could apply to, and I didn’t like what I was seeing from the ones I could apply to.

This year, I had some changes and I enjoy where I work much more. But, I still had the itch (and in some cases, need) to look for other jobs. So, I did what I do and I made a list. What helped me realize that I will need to look for a new job this year is that everything I put on the 🙂 side is something that can (and probably will) change. The things I put in the not 🙂 side were things that were probably here to stay or were going to take a very long time to change. And these were things that impacted my life outside of work.

Until today. There is one thing on the not 🙂 side that may be changing, and it’ll be changing probably in the way I want it to. Issue is, it hasn’t even been officially announced and there is some strong resistance to it. We need everyone on board, even if it’s not enthusiastically on board, for this to have a chance.

If this does happen, I will probably have to play a major role in getting it organized and running. I will also have a specific role throughout the year.

The bad thing about this is it still doesn’t outway the other things. Because of the other reasons, especially the ones that affect me outside of work, I still need to look at other places. So how do I go about that? I will need to speak with my boss about it, and I don’t want this project to be affected because I might not be here. Do I speak with the other people? The area that I would look to teach in is very popular, so I might not even be able to find another job this year.

I don’t like this! Sometimes I wish life were more black and white. Sometimes!

4 responses

  1. Oh do I hear you! I am returned to ‘work’ after years at home with my kids, but trying to find a teaching job that fits my needs as a mom/ teacher, challenging me the way I need, and feels like a right fit has been hard! I wish luck to you and can only really say what I tell myself, “everything happens for a reason and as a learning experience for the next something . . .”
    http://parentingandpedagogy.blogspot.com/?m=1

  2. Tara,
    I’ve lived your story. I feel your anxiety at this place in your life right now because it’s a major life change.

    Honestly, the way that I solved my crazy brain from trying to know what to do was to ask God to send my signs. I gave him a deadline even. And, you know what? Then, I paid attention. Big time. The signs came in bucket loads. I could not ignore what it was that HE wanted me to do.

    I’ll pray for you ~ I promise, you will know when you know.

    Shari 🙂

  3. Sounds like some heavy decision making needs to be made. I always have those moments, too, at this time of the year. Do I stay? Do I go? Do I find my dream job? Is my dream job worth the sacrifice I’ll have to make?

    My advice is cliche, but true. Listen to your heart. Always.

  4. Can’t wait to hear more of this story!

Leave a Reply

