SOLSC 2014, Slice 10

I was all set to write a nice, breezy post today. I went home, took a nap, then decided to go grocery shopping first. Big mistake. Might I mention that I also went to the grocery store yesterday?

I’m trying to save money, and food is really the only thing I can cut back on. So, I went last night and the store was out of the main thing I wanted, so I just grabbed something for dinner and lunch for today and left. I went to what is supposed to be the cheaper place today and ended up spending way more than usual, and I have like two real meals!

I just walked out feeling really defeated. The first year I lived on my own and needed to go grocery shopping and make all my meals, I did really well. I lived in a much smaller town that had a local grocery chain I grew up going to. I went once a week, bought everything I needed to last me until the next week, and boom, done! I spent way too much once (and it was mostly on delicious fruit, which I ate all of!), and I fixed that problem real quick.

So what happened? I used to meal plan, and I was excited about my meals. Now, I have no idea what I want to eat. Everything just seems so blah. I think I may have developed some food sensitivities or something, which I need to get checked out. But that can’t be all of it.

I really want to figure this out. I don’t have money to splurge on anything, so I want to make the food I eat count! And I don’t want to spend a massive amount, especially when I’m having to refigure this all out.

What an ick way to end the day! I’m looking forward to just relaxing on the couch now, not thinking about this. 🙂

 

4 responses

  1. You’ll get this figured out. I get into slumps. I am presently in one about cooking, so we have been doing a lot of take out which is both not good for you and costly. Once spring arrives and fresh food abounds, you’ll feel better.

  2. I can identify — in many ways, grocery shopping is depressing because food costs have increased over the past few years. My tricks: use coupons where possible, rely on store loyalty cards, meal plan, and stick to shopping only once a week. Regardless. Wishing you luck, savings, and good eating!
    b

  3. I feel your pain. Why is it that it is so much more expensive to eat healthy, though?

  4. Grocery shopping can be so frustrating — the cost of everything, not knowing what you want. I have found that making sure to keep a supply of a few things I know I always like helps me when I’m stuck figuring out what to make for lunch and dinner. And I try to make time before I make my shopping list to look through one or two of my favorite cookbooks to get some ideas — even if I don’t make one of those recipes, looking at them sometimes reminds me of something else I want to make.

    I hope you get out of your grocery slump soon, and that your budget starts to feel a little more expansive when you’re in the store!
    ~Stacie

Leave a Reply

