SOLSC 2014, Slice 3

So, it’s definitely Monday. I had a very decent weekend, and I thought it was just what I needed to get me ready for today.

As I’ve probably mentioned numerous times before, I moved up a grade level and I have most of the same group again this year. Most of them are fine, and at this point in the year I can handle what they’re bringing (I teach fifth, and yes they are going through whatever!!). But there is a tiny group that, when I heard they requested me…oh my. One year was enough! Then, there is a group of about 4 who I did not have last year. And thank goodness for that. I don’t think I could deal with these kids all day long, every day, for two school years.

It’s the constant, little, stupid things that are getting to me. Like, I’ll write step-by-step directions on the board, tell them to copy it down in their agenda, call of five separate kids to repeat the directions, read it to them again, and the half the class still won’t follow them. Or, someone will ask what we just went over. And it’ll be the tenth time the kid did it that day.

I can’t remember if I heard this or read this somewhere or whatever, but I remember someone saying this group of kids is the Youtube generation, in that they feel they need to comment on everything. I’ll be two sentences into our read aloud and three of these kids just start sharing their thoughts. I give them time to talk and share, I promise!

I have asked these kids to stop. I have told them to stop. I have had them leave the room. I have shared with how when they do some of these things, it makes me feel very disrespected. I have tried a lot.

I’m not going to continue to go on and on about all the little things that have just added up and BAM hit me today. I’ve definitely reached my breaking point, and now, I need to focus on staying calm in the room with them and reminding myself to work on letting these little things go. So, I will end this on a positive note.

I work with someone who was in this position a few years ago- she looped up with her kids, as well. Her demeanor when I went to her was exactly what I needed. I know a lot of this stuff in my head already. I know these kids will have some crazy hormone whatever going on. I know they will love me one minute and hate me the next, for no apparent reason. I know we’re getting into the worst part of the year for this stuff. But today, I took it personally. Today, I needed a moment. And I got that from my colleague. She reminded me that yes, this is normal. Yes, we are going to take it personally sometimes. Yes, many of these kids feel very comfortable with me now that they’ve been with me for so long. And yes, I can do this. And I will.

 

5 responses

  1. Thank you for sharing this today! I can feel your frustration. I work with 4th graders…great kids, but the commenting on EVERYTHING drives me batty, too! (I’ve never heard them described as the Youtube gen, but it so fits!) I also need to be reminded that it’s okay to feel this way and to try and let it go. Glad you have a supportive colleague. YES you can do it!

    1. Just knowing I’m not the only one is sometimes just what I need to get over things like this! Hopefully the commenting and other silly stuff will slowly stop soon. 🙂

  2. Your colleague is right…your students must feel very comfortable with you now…and that is a good thing. Yes, it is March and I think March felt like the longest month and that is when I felt frustration. (I am retired now) I don’t know how teachers make it through March now…with all of the testing demands to top of everything else. Hang in there! Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  3. It is the little things that end up being the straw that breaks the camel’s back. So what if you were to brainstorm ways to change these behaviors with the class.

    Have one of the students who always interrupts play the role of the teacher during a read aloud. See if peers interrupt that student. As Smokey Daniels said, have students write more . . during read aloud – the talkers need 2 jots before they can talk out loud. Or what if the “talkers” have a task during read aloud?

    It’s not that they can’t talk; it’s just that if they were in the middle of a basketball game, they couldn’t just stop and chat. Some self-monitoring skills may be needed! (Is there ever a time during the day when they don’t “comment” on everything?)

  4. They do wear us down, don’t they? It really is the constant, persistent interruptions and rudeness that can erode our good feeling. The job is demanding enough with good behavior!

    I teach seventh grade, and as much as I don’t like to take the time for parent contact over those repeated small behaviors, I’ve found that doing so usually pays off…sometimes I can avoid doing so if I clue the kid in to my plan to call home and let him know I’ll keep a tally sheet a few days ahead of time to let Mom and Dad know just how often he’s disrupting a lesson.

    Just a thought. Take care of yourself. You need you!

Leave a Reply

