Whew!

It has been a whirlwind around here lately. I’m working on so many “little” (but very important) things, and there are still so many other things that need to get done that I’m neglecting. Then there are things I would love to do (like a decent SOL every Tuesday!) that just fall to the side a lot.

I’m getting a little worried because, while there are always going to be more things to do than I can get done, I don’t see things slowing down. Add to that that, realistically, I am going to need to look for a new job, and I just want to curl up and sleep and pretend I have nothing to do!

I think the job thing is what just really hit me. I can’t put it off any longer. Like many other teachers, my pay hasn’t gone up. This many years in, and I’m still making the same as the first years. My first increase should come next year, but it’s a couple hundred. The scary thing is, I can’t just move to a neighboring district. I need to leave the state. Another big move. Ugh. (I’m leaving out a lot of personal info from this post.)

The other day I was thinking about where I am in life, and where I want to be. I want my student loans paid off. I want my car paid off. I want to save up for, and then purchase, a small home in a neighborhood I like. I would like to be able to decorate in a way I like (so good thing I don’t like anything to extravagent 🙂 ), and I would like to pick out appliances I want and be able to purchase them. 

After that, I would like to do other things, things I think of as “life” purchases. I would like to travel (both within and outside of the US). I would love to take photography classes and buy a nice camera to take with me to the class. I want to go back to school and take classes. (Do you know I think I’ve finally learned how to study? I made it through grad school without really knowing how. But, working with upper elementary school kids, I finally had to learn how so I could teach them.)

That’s not going to happen here. I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed keeping up with work these days, and thinking about starting this new phase of looking for work elsewhere, looking for a new place to hopefully call home, whew! That’s a lot. I’m trying to keep in mind two cliches: one step at a time and don’t put the cart before the horse!

4 responses

  1. The first step is to begin to think about change, and about how you can make it happen. And that is what you are doing. Bravo…and good luck! Keep us posted, Tara!

  2. So hard to get a FT job done while you look for work. But it’s easier to get hired if you have a job.
    I think the really strong thing in your post is your clarity. You are very clear what you want.
    However, it’s an uncomfortable squeeze right now.
    Wishing you all the best. Routing for you to find a perfect job. I know how wonderful having a place to call home is…finally. I worked for years without that comfort.
    All the best to you,
    L.

  3. You have tremendous courage to lay it on the line. While it is overwhelming, it is also really exciting to have all of these possibilities, all of these dreams to reach for. I agree with Tara. You’ve made the first step. Plan, prioritize, and step forth.

  4. Change is always difficult, but sometimes it is easier than staying where you are. Good that you are thinking about it all and trying to get some perspective on your choices. All my best in making the one that is right for you.

Leave a Reply

