Frustrated.

I keep thinking back to when I first actually started running. And then I realize that what I’m remembering isn’t actually my first go at it.

Spring semester of my first year of college is when I started going to the gym consistently. I think it was only 3 times a week, but I also had to walk everywhere. And there were stairs…

I think I started to try to start a running program spring of my second year, but it was all on the treadmill. Then I studied abroad in the summer, gained a little too much weight (if people heard the actual amount, I’m sure I’d get smacked. But, it was A) the most I had ever weighted up to that point in my life and B) enough that I couldn’t fit into 95% of my clothes (some of which I had just bought before leaving), but the next size up was still too big for me. So, it felt like muffin top central or clothes falling off. Can’t really win. I went to the gym 2x a day sometimes and was going to try that Special K diet. I think I made it to night one before I was angry with that diet. Luckily, by the time fall semester had started I had chilled out quite a bit. I must of been very pleasant to be around during that time.

I was back in my gym routine, and by the summer before my last year, I was making some real progress. Then I got really sick about two week before school started. I went back to school, but I just got worse. I was out of commission for ~4 weeks. I ended up having to come from school, but I got better and made it back to school. I had no energy until about October, so I had to start ALL over with everything. I could barely make it through riding a stationary bike for 20 minutes! 

By the end of my last year, I was feeling great. I had spoken with our school nutritionist and had made some better changes to my diet. About a week after I graduated, I started grad school. By the end of the fall semester, I could run for 45 minutes on the treadmill!

During the spring semester, I took my running outside. I had a good base from all that time doing other cardio in the gym, so I think starting a training program for a HM felt smoother. Like I said, I could run 45 minutes on a treadmill. I started with running 2 miles outside and built up from that. Some runs weren’t pretty, but they all got done. I graduated from grad school, moved to my new state, started teaching, and ran a half marathon that November. Two weeks later I ran a Turkey Trot 10k. And it’s been all downhill from there.

I think the biggest difference is that I haven’t kept up the exercise routine in general. In both college and grad school, I was working out consistently. I think once the stress of school and moving hit me, I let a lot of my good habits go, like the healthier eating, consistent working out, and going to bed/waking up at the same time each day. 

Finally, something that’s getting me is reading some beginner running forums/blogs. I can’t find any that are good for me! It really seems like people say hey, I want to start running, and then BAM, they’re running 60 miles a week. Or, they go for their first run and then they’re running 7-8 minute miles. Yeah, that’s not me. I just start feeling bad about myself. So, no more reading those! But, I would love a great resource about running to read.

Annnnddddd now I’m running out of steam writing this!

One response

  1. People who write about their success with running and having exercise routine have discovered something that works for them. I can imagine it being a hotchpotch of need, inspiration, goal setting, energy, support, small successes and time. I don’t think that there is a set of steps to take that would make everyone successful. I also have scientifically not proven theory that majority of people struggle with sticking to a routine but don’t write about it. I gave up on running. I found that yoga and dancing work better for me. Am I successful? So-so.

Leave a Reply

