Kindness of Others

Yesterday, I went into school to get some work done in my classroom. The past few times I’ve gone it, I had a goal in mind. Somehow, each time, some barrier came up to keep me from accomplishing my goal. It was beginning to feel very frustrating.

This year, I will be in a new room, teaching a new grade. The person in there before taught something completely different, and when she left, she took all of the “good stuff.” (She will be teaching on a cart, but took all of the storage. Except for the broken stuff.). I have no cubbies, no hooks, no curriculum materials. But I knew I would make it work.

Anyway, I spoke to my mom about some of the obstacles earlier in the summer, just to vent. Today, she told me a gift card was in the mail so I can get cubbies for my room. She feels badly that in year five, I’m still making a first year teacher’s salary, and that this spring and summer my bills have gone up $300 each month. Here’s the thing- she has been a single parent for about 20 years now and always had to save for everything. She doesn’t have extra money to spare. And, her position at work will be cut early in the fall. But she wanted me to have what I needed.

Also today,  a coworker came to help me install some pieces I had gotten from another coworker. This was not a fun process, but she wanted to make sure it was done, and it was done well.

In the grand scheme of life, these three things are not huge. However, I feel so much better today than I have all summer. I finally got a huge thing done in my classroom, something I could not have done on my own. A while I know there are more than enough people who have no respect for teachers, my mom helped remind me today that there are people out there who value teachers. And there is at least one person out there who values me!

Now, how can show kindness to others?!?

5 responses

  1. You can show kindness every day, in a gazillion different ways. I love to keep the cycle going. My room is by the door. One of my favorite ways is by helping people in with their things and then walking and chatting together until we get to their room. Kid kindness is what we do best every day! xo

  2. Sorry to hear about the condition of your room. It doesn’t seem right that the principal is allowing this to go on. You should not have to dig into your pocket nor teach in a room where things are shabby! That said, it’s wonderful that your mom sent you what she did. I think we can all pay kindness forward…kindness does not cost a dime-even a smile can make someone’s day.

  3. What an amazing mother! And how wonderful that this new colleague helped out, too! But you are part of the equation – your own kindness is rewarded, I’m sure.

  4. A mother’s love. It is like nothing else in the world.

  5. I empathise with the condition of the room – all too often I spent the beginning of the summer furnishing to go back and find my room had been raided for matching chairs – mine was always colourful as I had what was left of everybody’s rooms!

    People who don’t teach will never understand how much work goes into the physical prep every year.
    Good luck for the new term – you can pay it forward by being that teacher who saves other teachers from insanity when they are trying to do something on their own that clearly needs 2 people!

Leave a Reply

