Professional Development

Today, I was supposed to go to the first of a two-day PD workshop. I set my alarm last night, wasn’t able to fall asleep until about 3 hours before it was supposed to go off, woke up about 5 minutes before it went off, and then questioned if it was really worth it. I realized a few things: no one I knew was going to be there, I was going to get road rage driving there on a road that is somehow always incredibly congested, and I was only going because my principal said it would look good on our evaluation. I realized it wasn’t going to bump me up any on that eval, I need more gas in my car (because the location is farther than anywhere I would go today), I would need to buy lunch there, and I didn’t actually want to be there.

I hate that I can’t depend on good PD. I went to four workshops earlier this summer, and I really only got something out of one of them. I also went to a workshop a few years ago on a similar topic and left completely stressed. We were told we NEED to be our students’ teacher, parent, counselor, nutritionist, and on and on and on. We NEEDED to do whatever it was that was needed of us. This followed a school year where nothing I did was enough. I could get a kid to do 99 multiplication facts in 10 seconds, and they’d be mad it wasn’t 100 (exaggeration, yes).

Instead, I stayed at home for most of the day. I did venture out to buy some crates for my classroom, I started an online PD session on the same topic I was supposed to go to day, and I just finished watching a free online webinar on something my kids struggle with and got a few great games for some of my kids to practice some of the skills they need to improve on. I also cooked lunch AND dinner for myself today. 

Very happy I decided to stay home. Now, if only I could find a free way to get all of the materials I need for my classroom! (Or, take a day where I don’t think about my classroom once.) 🙂

2 responses

  1. Yay for listening (my OLW ) and doing what you wanted to do today. As for taking a day where you don’t think once about your classroom, please let me know when you figure that one out.

  2. This post is both refreshing and encouraging. Good for you for first being brave enough to realize what’s really important and then acting (or not) on that realization. We should all follow your lead and try to stop doing things without good reasons – there are too many things demanding our time that don’t really deserve that investment!

Leave a Reply

