Worn Out

Teaching in general can wear me out. I like to think that normally, it is one of those tired-but-it-was-so-fun-getting-there tireds (I think it used to be like this). By the end of this year, I was tired because of some clique stuff and a lot of paperwork/other stuff I don’t feel like doing because I would rather be teach or preparing for what I need to teach stuff. I thought I would get to recharge with a program I’m working with this week, where I work with young writers.

I started out my career teaching at the primary level, and I really enjoyed it. I’ve been moving up and finding that I enjoy working with the older kids. I thought it would be so much fun to work with the little ones again. O.M.G. HOW did I do this? Granted, I’m doing a seven hour day of nothing but writing (and trying to add technology), but most of these kids slap down a few sentences and are done, and it’s only 15 minutes into our (let me repeat, SEVEN HOUR) day. They can’t type. They can’t get an web address correct. And I almost can’t take it!! It’s really challenging for me because I don’t have any of my old stuff and I had to scramble to get materials for this, so of course a lot of my stuff is just a little to over their heads. 

Now honestly, this is just a really long day. Even with the older kids, this is a long time. I’m breaking up the day with plenty of recess and free computer time, but it still feels like a lot. 

On the plus side (it really isn’t all bad!), I’m seeing some great creativity during recess, hearing some ?? stories, getting paid for, and I got some reflective writing done today.

5 responses

  1. “I thought it would be so much fun to work with the little ones again. O.M.G. HOW did I do this?”

    These words put us right there in your shoes… or should I say tiredly pulling off the shoes! Then the added details really make us feel it-

    “these kids slap down a few sentences and are done, and it’s only 15 minutes into our (let me repeat, SEVEN HOUR) day. They can’t type. They can’t get an web address correct. And I almost can’t take it!! …a lot of my stuff is just a little over their heads. ”

    Glad there are still some plusses! Of course, there always are, if we can keep awake long enough to think of them.

    1. Thanks for your specific feedback!

  2. Whew! I’m tired just reading your post. I remember when I moved from teaching 4th grade to 1st grade. I was ready for my mom at lunch time just like the other kids. My 20 year old son is teaching at a summer camp. He’s going into music education, so it’s a great opportunity for him. When I asked him how he liked his job. His response? OMG, I am so tired! 🙂 Good luck with your little ones.

    1. Haha, those first few days are definitely a wake up call!

  3. Young writers can be exhausting…especially when they are not familiar with workshop and have to be led into it. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

