Ramblings

It’s that time in the school year when I’m just completely overwhelmed. This is especially true this year- I’m changing classrooms and people want me done by Friday, the last day of school. My kids really want to help, but it’ll be hard to keep an eye on them, so… 

Anyway, I really need a brain dump right now. So here goes!

I realized I graduated from high school nine years ago today. It’s funny (or sad?)- my life is nothing like I thought it would be. I tried to avoid being a teacher, but I think in the back of my head I think I knew that’s what I would be. I thought I’d be so many things by now- a wife, a mother. I think that’s the part that makes me sad. But the other things were so far from who I am I have no idea why I thought that would be my life!

I’m looking forward to school being over and my little one-week job being done so I can finally organize my apartment. The problem I have is I now have a very long summer, with one of my summer jobs falling through at the last minute. Sometimes, when I have a lot of time, I put things off so much that they never get done. Hoping that doesn’t happen this time.

My sister is moving, I believe this week. And I don’t believe she ever planned on telling me. I am really sad we are not as close as we used to be, and now I don’t think we’ll ever get that back.

I’m really hoping to get back in to exercising this summer. 

These next few days will be C-R-A-Z-Y!

8 responses

  1. Every year I wonder how I will make it through the crush of my to-do list at the end of the school year. Every year, I somehow make it. Keep looking forward to those days once it’s over!

  2. I connected with your post on several levels. I’m sorry that you and your sister are not close. I also have a sister who is estranged from the rest of the family. For years I was the only one she connected with. I always thought it would get better, but it has not. Now we rarely even text, let alone spend time talking. And the procrastinator, I have trouble with that too. I taught for 29 years and had some summers free, now I work year round and miss those endings. Because with each ending is a chance for a new beginning. I hope you enjoy your summer and accomplish your goals.

  3. I remember that I was not the kid who dreamed about teaching but I am the teacher who loved every minute of my time the classroom. Enjoy your summer 🙂

  4. Your post hit close to home— it being 9 years (from my COLLEGE graduation) and I, too, felt like I would be a wife and mother by now. But don’t worry. Life has a weird way of working itself out, even when it doesn’t seem like anything is right. It will. Love keeping up with you! I hope the end of the year isn’t too crazy, and don’t worry about your sister for now. All you need to do is call or visit her when you are ready. She is your family. She will always be a part of you.

  5. Sometimes you think the crazy times are too hard until you come to a time that is too quiet. Enjoy each moment – crazy and quiet.

    1. Haha YES! I wish it wasn’t all busy just to be all nothing- more spread out and balanced would be amazing.

      1. Balance is always something to strive for. Good luck.

  6. Me too – 13 years of teaching & running out of time to become a mother…I’ve learnt not to worry about the future. There are things you can control & things you can’t.

Leave a Reply

