190,000

I’m finding that I have a few drafts that I want to work on, but I will save those for another week. I feel like this is becoming a place for me to whine, but I’m also seeing that that is kind of where I am in my life right now- very confused and not sure where to go. I don’t really talk about my feelings and issues, so it has been helpful to write about it here. 

But today, I want to write about my car. As I drove into my apartment complex parking lot, the odometer hit 190,000. I am driving home (as in family home!) on Friday to buy a new car and I am glad I got to see that milestone!

This is the car I learned how to drive in. It was about a year old when my mom got it, and she bought it when I turned 15 so I could have her old car and she would then have the “new” one. However, I ended up driving the new one around and my mom loved her old one so much, the new one was mine!

Other people have driven it. I couldn’t have a car during my first year of college, and that was the same year my sister learned how to drive and got her permit, so it was shared between the two of us. My next two years of college, I couldn’t bring it with me because my mom couldn’t afford two cars, so my mom and sister got to use it back home. My mom sure did manage to put a good amount of miles on it! Finally, I got the car all to my last year of college, and it’s been mine-all-mine ever since. 

This car has been with me for a lot. Learning to drive, visiting colleges (it was even broken into during one visit!), taking me to move in for undergrad, going to grad school, and moving here to my new state by myself. 

It’s over ten years old. Almost 200,000 miles (I HATE that I won’t get to see that mark!). So many life changes. And this weekend, I need to get a new car. Mine is just breaking down too much. I’ve already had to take it in three times this year! 

There are a lot of things I’m not sure about, a lot of stresses in my life right now. I’m really getting sad that I’ll be getting a new car, just because this is really the only one I’ve ever known! I’ve had it for the past 11 years! (And I was hoping to get student loans paid for first- oh well!).

It seems to me that quality isn’t really what it used to be for a lot of the things I buy now. I hope my next car is as good to me as my first- and I hope I have some great adventures it in!

6 responses

  1. There is a lot of history with you and that car. I’m glad you chronicled some of it.

  2. Wishing you many miles in your new car!

  3. I like that you wrote a slice about your car…great inspiration.

  4. Oh have I been there! Saying goodbye to a car is like taking the risk of throwing away a trigger! All of the stories that you will no longer have the physical trigger to, but will have to remember them independently instead! Write them down, this last week, as you think of the times you have had with that car. Write them down. And, of course, don’t release that car into the wild without one last picture. 🙂 Good luck!

  5. Ahh, the love affair with a car! It’s a member of the family at this point-it will be hard to say goodbye, but for safety sake it’s sounding needed! Good luck with car shopping!

  6. What great stories about your car. I’m sure you will miss it. We drive all of our cars for years and years. I just got a new car last fall and must say I was pleasantly surprised. Even the less expensive models are so updated compared to my old car. I quickly made the switch and haven’t looked back. How wonderful to have had such a dependable car during these years. Hopefully you will have stories of your new one — ten years from now.

    Cathy

Leave a Reply

