Slice 24

I really love Spring and Summer. I’m usually always cold, so I think I just enjoy being a little less cold during those months. I also enjoy being able to be outside. I love it when I am able to get up early and run before I start my day (we’ll see if that happens this year!). I love being able to have the windows open- that reminds me of my mom for some reason.

But today, I keep thinking about fall. I also love fall. 🙂 It’s football season, which could be fun but is usually very frustrating for me. But two things keep coming back to me.

There is a memory I have of walking down the stairs and into the kitchen. I am either in upper elementary school or starting middle school. It’s on the chilly side and I’m getting ready to go to school. For some reason, it just all feels right. My mom babysat, and there was a boy that got dropped off before school. He had on a denim jacket. I have no idea why, but I wanted one of those so bad! I don’t know what it is about that moment- the feeling of the breeze coming in from the window, that fall smell, the dark blue denim, the colors of the leaves on the trees…

And one of my other fall memories is when I visited the school I eventually attended for college. I thought I would hate it, but I went because it was in state and too good of a school to not look at. It was the Tuesday before Thanksgiving, and the town has small mountains surrounding it. All the trees had colorful leaves on them, and the brick buildings had the glow of lights coming from them. The students walked around looking happy  and busy and I just knew that it was a place that I wanted to be. 

I wonder what other random thoughts and memories will pop into my head today!

3 responses

  1. Fall is my favorite season too. While I love the birds singing and flowers blooming, pulling on a pair of jeans and a jean jacket after so many months of heat is exciting to me.

  2. I love how this late winter/early spring made you think of fall! The gray day and the sound of the wind pummeling our windows–and the expectation of snow tonight–make today seem fall-like, too. But I am glad to be looking forward to some teaching breaks, sunshine, and warmer weather. I’m too exhausted to think about going through the holidays again. But I’m always ready when fall really does come around again. 🙂 Go, Colts.

  3. I love Fall too, a sense of the school year beginning, and those gorgeous Fall colors to enjoy! How lucky that you visited your school to be in Fall and discovered just the place for you to be.

Leave a Reply

