Slice 17

My teaching philosophy

I am slowly working on update my electronic portfolio. (That process will need to be sped up very soon!) One thing that I know is going to take a while is revisiting my philosophy of teaching and learning. The last time I looked at this was when I graduated from grad school and had to do it for one of my last classes. I made a few revisions for the job search, but I haven’t gone back.

It’s now four years later, and way past time I revisit it. While some things haven’t really changed too much for me, others have. I know firsthand equal isn’t always fair (or is it fair isn’t always equal?). 

I know that it is important to try to make the classroom a real community, and I am part of that community. It is about the kids, but it is also about what I feel is best. 

I know that I was very lucky in my student teaching placement. I had more of a voice there as a student teacher than I have had these past few years as a teacher with my own classroom. I was accepted, I enjoyed everyone I worked with, I loved all of the kids in my room, and I felt (and was told) I was doing an awesome time and was going to be a great teacher.

Stability is important to me. I would like to find a place with more of that, if possible.

Being able to follow my instinct is also important. I am not a very confident person at all. I will usually give in to others. But teaching is something I feel that I am good at and, if given the chance, could be great at. When I’m allowed to try different things, sure, a few of them flop. But many of them are AMAZING. The writing plans I did for this past unit? If you came into my room these past few weeks, every single child in my class was FULLY engaged. They wanted to extend literacy block so they could continue doing research. I didn’t have to redirect a single child. They wanted to make their work better. 

On that note, I know I’m better at some subjects than others. I want to teach social studies, and perhaps some type of reading/writing course. I don’t need to be teaching math and science, even though I do enjoy those subjects. I just don’t have any passion for teaching them- so I shouldn’t!

I want everyone in my room, including myself, to leave each day a little bit better than we all walked in. I want to help make our future kinder, smarter, and better than our present.

And now to gather the courage and luck I will need to make a move to make myself really happy and make all of these things possible!

2 responses

  1. Tara, there is so much meaning and insights in this post. You are also reminding me to revise my own teaching portfolio. My philosophy isn’t the same as when I first started teaching either. Revision time! Thank you for the push!!

  2. I want everyone in my room, including myself, to leave each day a little bit better than we all walked in. I want to help make our future kinder, smarter, and better than our present.
    I just love the sense of commitment and passion for teaching in this bit of your post. I think it’s good for all of us, no matter how long we’ve been teaching, to step back from time to time and ask ourselves the questions you are posing. We’re only relevant if we ask these questions and seek answers.

Leave a Reply

