Slice 16

I guess this is the halfway point?! 

Reading-

Usually I love reading. Occasionally, I have a little issue with it. I have a stack of books waiting to be read. However, none of them are pulling at me. I went on a little streak of being really really in to the books I was reading, and now I can’t find that feeling in any of them that I have.

There is one book that I have that is the second book in a trilogy. I did not like the first one, but I was about a quarter of the way in and I had to know what happened. It was over 450 pages, and I didn’t feel like anything really excited happened until the last few chapters. Surely the next book would pick up with that, right? Ugh, I just can’t get in to it and I don’t know if I care enough to see what happens.

Some of the other books I have are for upper elementary/middle school readers. I usually enjoy these and like knowing about the books that I put in my classroom library, but I’m just not feeling any of the ones in my stack right now, either!

Luckily, these little phases don’t usually last long. Hopefully I can get myself back into a reading groove! 

10 responses

  1. What are some of the titles that you have in your pile?

    1. Off the top of my head I can thing of One Boy & His Dog, R My Name is Rachel, and Insurgent. I think those are correct!

  2. I’m reading a book right now that I just haven’t been able to get into. I’m just hurrying along so I can be done and get on to a better book. Good luck getting back into your groove.

  3. Tara, I feel like we are living the same life sometimes. I hope you get your reading grove back and soon!

    1. I was thinking earlier about how there are some blogs I make sure to check in with b/c of a strong connection- yours is one of them! 🙂

  4. You can trust it will come back – with a vengeance.

  5. Reading a good book can be like flying to another country without the expense of a plane ticket. I have read Insurgent, the Sequel to Divergent. I couldn’t put it down.

  6. I’m on a mission with my current favorite book. Have you read Legend by Marie Lu? It was one I couldn’t put down and can’t wait to share with my students.

    1. I have not- thanks for the suggestion. I definitely try to find it!

  7. I’m in a reading funk right now too! Partly, I think, because I’m really tired from state testing, but maybe just as much because I’ve spent most of my reading time reading slices!

Leave a Reply

