Slice 14

I have a kid in my class that really just kills me. I knew her from last year, and let’s just say she is one of those kids that everyone is aware of. She was retained and someone volunteered me to teach her this year! It was fine- I knew her and I knew what kinds of things to just ignore.

Cut to the beginning of this year. We weren’t sure if she was even coming back to our school. I happened to see her in the office in the morning and she was smiling. Great first sign! We had one good day, then another, then another. A few rough patches came, but they always quickly went.

Until now. I have no idea what happened. I have no idea what I cold have done differently. She’s angry and disrespectful. She stole from me. It’s just not fun having her around. Luckily the other kids are kind of just ignoring most of this behavior and not feeding into it. 

I have a feeling it is only going to get worse, and I have absolutely no idea how to make it better. I try to just be there for her, but it gets frustrating to work to keep my cool and have someone be so nasty to me. Hopefully we can end the year on a positive note.

3 responses

  1. You are a constant in her life! Hang in there! When that happens to me, I try to waylay the student unexpectedly in a conversation somewhere on campus outside of the classroom. As reading coach, I will often intervene for colleagues to dig deeper too…I am at a high school. Good luck. You have more patience than you really realize you have!

  2. I can not imagine how hard it would be to care and have someone respond so negatively. There must be something going on in her life. She is probably expecting you to give up on her. I admire your courage.
    The cool thing is you only have to worry about your end of it. You can only control your attitude not hers.
    I wish I had a teacher like you when I was in school.

  3. These kids keep us honest and on our toes. We are with you, Pam. Keep us in the loop.

Leave a Reply

