Slice 12

I have been trying to write down my teaching reflections more this year. I was really good at the beginning of the year, then basically stopped. I’m getting back in to it a little. It’s really helping me to write things down, and I’m really starting to make some connections I don’t think I otherwise would. Today, as I was writing, I was planning my next writing unit. I’m actually taking this one and splitting it into two smaller pieces. I like that I did this because I feel like I can hopefully fix some of the things I am noticing I need to change soon, instead of having to wait until next time.

Something that is really standing out to me is the idea of teaching vs. assigning. I’m noticing that a lot of teachers, including myself, tend to assign instead of teach. I know I’m getting better at moving more towards actual teaching, but there is always so much more I can do. I’m excited to start prepping for the second half of this unit. I feel like it will be a lot more work, because I’m not just reading from a script, but I feel like I have a lot more fun and my kids get so much more when I go this “new” way.

 

5 responses

  1. I have been trying to do more written reflections on my teaching as well this year. I always do mental reflections. I agree with you, it does help!

  2. Beware of “assign and assess.” You’ve hit the nail on the head: teaching is missing. Like Forrest Gump, that’s all I have to say about that. 🙂

  3. It is about being present in the moment. Good reflection.

  4. Writing reflections over the past four years has made me a better teacher. It is interesting that when I was asked (or made) to writing reflections as a young teacher I only did it to do it–to go through the motions. I didn’t understand it…I was too immature.

  5. Making sure you teach rather than assign is so important and can be quite challenging. Realizing this is big step in the right direction. I think that once you start making an effort to teach, rather than assign, it becomes habit. Keep on working at it!

Leave a Reply

