Slice 11

I started writing another post today that I just put into my drafts. Maybe one day I will post it. It went in a direction I wasn’t expecting, and that’s not really what I want to put out there today. 

In writing that post, I realized I had a very selfish realization this year. I always said I have to accommodate x amount of people in my room each year, x being the amount of students I have. This year, about a month ago, I thought no, it’s x + 1. I’m in there, too. I’ve spent so much time being told to do things that don’t work for me, putting systems in place for kids that make no sense to me, so one and so on, that I know things have suffered.

Tomorrow I have a conference with a parent and our counselor, and I’m sure a recommendation will be made for something I don’t agree with. If I thought it had a chance of working, I’d try it. But I know what will be recommended has nothing to do with what the actual problem is, and so I’m going to say no. I’m not going to completely change something that will take the kid probably a quarter to get used to (as I tried this with other kids and it took them that long) when we have less than a quarter and a half left in the school year. And the rest of this year will be so broken up. Spring Break is coming up soon. Then state testing, Then end of the year stuff. No. Just no. The issue is the kid needs to come to school and take a little bit of responsibility. 

I feel very at peace with this right now. We’ll see how I do tomorrow. 😉 Even thought it is a selfish thought, that I need to think about myself in my classroom along with all those kids, I feel a little bit less stressed right now. And how much better would I be if I could rid myself of some of this stress?

Tomorrow, if need be, I will think about myself as well and say no.

6 responses

  1. If you truly believe that the accomodation will not benefit the studetn and it is a case of missed school or not being a responsible student, then you are not being selfish. I think making accomodations when they are not truly needed is actually doing a disservice to the child and his learning. Good luck tomorrow.

  2. I love this: “This year, about a month ago, I thought no, it’s x + 1. I’m in there, too. I’ve spent so much time being told to do things that don’t work for me, putting systems in place for kids that make no sense to me, so one and so on, that I know things have suffered.” I’m cheering you on – yes, yes, yes, say NO! We should not forget ourselves. We are essential.

  3. I think it’s always important to include ourselves when making changes to the classroom and our students. While it’s important to be open-minded and willing to change, sometimes we know best and that knowledge should be honored and respected.

  4. I think so many times we, as teachers, seem to forget about ourselves in the classroom. We do need to take care of ourselves. I know I have a problems saying “no” to things and end up being more stressed because of all the things I have created for myself. Thank you for reminding me to think about myself! And good luck tomorrow!

  5. You know what is best. I wonder if they will listen. Yes, take care of yourself..

  6. I love the line— “it’s x plus 1” —- we know our kids best and we need to be consulted and included in the decision-making process—–not told what to try, just to try it. Good luck! Stay strong!

Leave a Reply

