Slice 10

Taking Responsibility.

I get very tired during the week. Sometimes very tired. Like get home, sit on the couch, and can’t get up because I can’t focus on anything tired. So no work gets done. Which leads me to weekends that have so many things on my list to do I just avoid it because it’s easier, and I’ve been working hard all week so why can’t I have some time off?

I want to take Spring Break off. I would like to get some “extra” organizing done and get everything I need for applying for other jobs ready then. I would like to read and then read some more, and go home and visit my friends and family in my home state for a few days. 

So I need to take more responsibility for my actions. It won’t kill me to keep up with grading better. I know I’m not going to get that whole stack today. I already woke up with a headache so there is no way I can focus that well for a few hours. There is a social studies project that I need to grade today, as well as a math worksheet. Then, I will organize all of the other sheets, and I will make it a goal to grade one smaller stack each day this week, then make sure all grades are entered by Friday. 

Of course, that stack of papers is just one of the many things I need to do, but I need to get myself back on track. By the end of undergrad, I had a great schedule going. I did laundry the same time each week. I had a work out schedule that I stuck to. I had a sleep schedule and was improving my eating. I felt great and so much less stressed. I was able to keep up and improve upon all of those habits in grad school, and I’m sad all of that has seemed to just fall apart. 

But I was the one who started all those good habits and routines. So I am going to have to be the one to take responsibility and get myself back on track. 

Just to hold myself accountable, my goals for today:
-grade social studies project and math paper
-finish laundry
-read for my class
-GET TO BED ON TIME!

5 responses

  1. Stick with your plan! You’ll be fine. I know how you feel…it’s hard to stay focused on school work sometimes…

  2. Hang in there! I, too, almost always get so tired after a work week, I feel like I could go to sleep by 8! Remember begging to stay up late and now we beg to go to sleep earlier?

  3. I can totally relate! And the more I have to do the more I want to nap, which just creates this vicious cycle. I feel your pain. Good luck re-establishing your routines. You will be so proud of yourself once you do it!

  4. Yes, you did it before. You can do it again. Sometimes all I want to do is take a nap. But the piles are still there when I wake up.

Leave a Reply

