Slice One

of (hopefully!) thirty-one!

I’m excited to try this out! In the summer of 2011, I participated in the Summer Institute of my local branch of the National Writing Project. I NEVER thought of myself as a writer, and I knew that needed to change if I was going to teach writing. Sadly, the course only lasted two weeks. I just started getting comfortable with the idea of getting comfortable of writing and being a part of a writing community. I realized one of the reasons I don’t write is because I don’t share it- and I don’t want to reread what I write!

So I got in a groove and then after the Institute, I stopped. Most people just kind of fell off- no more comments, much less posts on our blogs. But I want that to change! I want to jump back in to a writing community, and this seems like such a great way! I have a busy month up ahead, so hopefully I can keep this up!

10 responses

  1. Cyndy McKenzie | Reply

    You can do it!

  2. Welcome to the challenge! I did my first one last year and have continued to blog once a week for Tuesday Slice of Life. I even jumped into Poetry Friday recently. You never know where this blogging business will take you. Have you posted your blog on your Facebook page? Do you tweet? These are just a few ways to get your blog out there. I think you will find all the teachers who participate to be kind and generous. Happy Slicing!

  3. This is my first time trying this, too. As you do, I teach writing and have begun to realize more and more that I need to do more of what I say instead of having a ‘do as I say, not as I do’ attitude towards writing. I want my students to write so that they can improve their skills, but who am I to not do the same? It is difficult to write without an audience, so I agree with you, that this will provide that needed incentive to write – other people reading it! I look forward to reading more of your posts this month.

  4. The Slice challenge is a great place to get used to writing every day and being a writer. I have never found a more welcoming group than this! And you know, after March, there’s always Tuesdays! Glad to have you here. Happy slicing.

  5. You are in the right place. I am excited for the delights you are going to discover! Welcome.

  6. Well, you’ve come to the right writing community! Slicing is a wonderful way to hone your writing skills. Besides, it’s just fun!

  7. Last year was my first slicing. I never saw myself as a writer. Now I find myself thinking, I need to remember to write about this so often! Welcome.
    And I agree March is a very busy month!

  8. Welcome! I’m still working on being comfortable with the idea that I’m a writer!

  9. Yay! Glad you are here! This is a great place to find some accountability to keep going, even when we’re busy; to find support and encouragement when we are feeling a little humdrum about writing; to be inspired by the writing of others; and, to fall in love with BEING a WRITER! Enjoy the moments writing, reading, commenting, laughing out loud, getting teary-eyed, and making new friends! 🙂 j.

  10. Hello, and welcome to the slice community. This is my second year slicing. I look forward to reading your slices. Maybe we could have pizza one day.

Leave a Reply

